Femkes-deur-naar-de-wereld.reismee.nl

General campus concerns

The first blog since a long time concerns (again) life on a Chinese campus (since that's mostly what I do around here) moves straight on to the most important thing to students and teachers alike: sleeping! Whenever an opportunity presents itself, the students rest their little heads on the desks to nap, usually between classes, sometimes during class, should the teacher be unaware.

Their behaviour is easily understood. The students live by a strict regime in this school. The proper time for sleeping, eating, classes and 'exercise' (see pictures, though I should add that basketball is also a regular part of their diet) are firmly regulated, to optimize studying, as previously mentioned in this blog. It is said that it is the mission of the school's Principal to have every student study as much as possible, without jeopardizing their health.

Included in this blog: pictures of a dorm room, a room the same size as mine, only they share it with six students, as my juniors demonstrate. Pay special attention to the tidiness of the room. It's scary. I've had a demonstration of how to fold a duvet. It takes a full five minutes. It should come as no surprise that the students do not actually use these duvets, but bring their own from home, to save some time in the morning. Their room is checked twice a day, even under the beds (though the teacher is not tall enough to look on top of the cupboard, where I spotted a partly eaten apple that had been there a while...) and the students are disciplined if the smallest thing is out of order. It breeds discipline. It also takes some getting used to for certain foreign teachers. I guess I should just count my blessings: at least they don't come to check my room!

This busy schedule, of course, also affects the teachers, who often look exhausted. I am glad I'm just an intern now. Not only do they have to teach more classes, they also have to give the students an exam every week (preparation and grading). Most of them also have other responsibilities, like being the 'head teacher' (the mentor) of a class (including the parent-teacher meetings...). And on top of all that, they have a silly foreign teacher to deal with.

Then, they have to deal with the Chinese system of management, which is sometimes frustratingly funny. For example, I have had to prepare my first midterm exam (on the other side of the desk this time) two weeks ago. Naturally, I was informed about this, a whole TWO days before the exam had to be finished. Total shock of course, and completely freaked out for two seconds, before I regained my composure and wrote the test (which turned out quite alright, if I may say so myself). Also, I regularly turn up to teach a class, only to walk into an empty classroom, as the students have gone off to singing practice or a student meeting. The danger in this (mostly around seniors) is that if I pass the class at any other period, they might get the idea of asking me to teach another class to make up for the one they missed (the downside of being liked). When? 'Oh, we have self-study during the evening, have you got time to teach us then?' ... ... Sure, why not...

It's a good thing I actually like this teaching stuff!

This blog is just a warm-up, better things are on their way. Not just for you, my reader, also for me. More about this later! I have some catching up to do!!

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active