Femkes-deur-naar-de-wereld.reismee.nl

A warm welcome

Hello from Zhongshan! The first story in many a month is composed in my new workspace, my desk at the teacher’s office at CHES secondary school, in the south of Zhongshan, under the blessed influence of air-conditioning.

I presume my readers do not need/want to hear too much about the drag of travelling to the other side of the world, about cramped seats and airline food, but I would like to mention the excellent farewell barbeque-weekend I have enjoyed. Unfortunately (or: fortunately?) I have no incriminating pictures to share. Suffice to say it was wonderful and very moving. Thanks to Sybren, Guido and Babs (especially for the marshmallows!) for a great send-off!

Arriving in Zhongshan is like stepping into a hot oven, so you might imagine my gratefulness when Christine, my new boss, appeared to take me to my new home. She even carried my luggage, the lighter bag, mind you, but this wouldn’t be the last time she would relieve me of my burdens. About my room and the school, more news will appear in another blog. Right now, I am still settling in, but it is a very warm nest to land in. The teachers are all very welcoming and helpful, but also excellent at telling student-related horror stories, which make me want to turn around and run! I’ll share some of these once I have validated them, it should be more interesting for you, my reader, to read them from my own first-hand experience. Wish me luck!

In Zhongshan, foreigners are welcomed everywhere. This results in a busy schedule. Apart from the work at the school, meetings, introductions and familiarizing oneself with the school, so far, I have attended several memorable events.

The school had, in honour of teacher’s day (somewhere in September), organised an outing where the teachers were treated to a wonderful dinner in a fancy restaurant. Unfortunately, no pictures, but a five-star hotel would have been envious. It was a very good opportunity to meet the Hong Kong teachers and learn a bit about the school politics (more about this later).

For a second event, Sven and me (yes, he’s also working at this school, but more about this later) were invited by our colleague Jerry to attend a charity event hosted by the Guangzhou Lions Club, a subsidiary of the original (I believe British) organisation which works to raise funds and helps set up charities. Jerry is very active in this area, his organisation which supports disabled people around Zhongshan had recently received a donation from the Lions Club, and was therefore invited. The whole event was very impressive and fun to attend. We especially enjoyed the auction (items at a starting price of 6.800 ¥, sold for 42.000 ¥) by trying to guess what price the item would go for (while carefully avoiding to raise a hand).

Last but not least, yesterday, the City of Zhongshan took the foreigners on a trip: the “Zhongshan in the eyes of foreigners photo contest kick-off tour”. A very well organised bus trip, including a boat cruise, working with Chinese calligraphy masters, a performance by a renowned local lion dance troupe, a lovely lunch (no event without food in China), a tour of Aoshan village (historic site), and a visit to a Buddhist temple, where the monks had waited with their chanting of the scriptures until the foreigners had arrived (which was a bit weird, but very beautiful to attend).

All in all, a warm welcome in more than one way.

Now, however, I need help to win this photo contest!! Please let me know which photo I should submit, and help me win this glorious prize!!

(I’m not sure what it is…)

Reacties

Reacties

jan hein

Wat een ijver, nog maar net in de hitte. En zo'n mooi engels en zonder zweetplekken. Ik had pas op het kaartje door dat je zo dicht bij HongKong zit. Hier heeft liz vandaag haar laatste uitslaapdag, morgen beginnen de scholen.
veel plezier daar

Marianne (moeder van Sven)

Mooie foto's Femke, leuk voor mij ook meteen een paar van Sven erbij :D. Voor de wedstrijd heb ik drie favorieten, "drainpipe", "caligraphy" en "coils of incense".
Heel veel succes in je nieuwe baan!

sybren

Dag Femke,
Dank voor je mooie kaartje, dat is lief van je. En, een mooi verslag heb je geschreven. Leuk om te lezen dat je daar meteen op 'sleeptouw' wordt genomen - de beste integratiecursus. Aan de foto's te zien lijkt het daar allemaal wat kleurrijker en 'cultureler' dan de toch ietwat grimmige plaatjes van je vorige verblijf. Je zult hier vast een fijne tijd beleven. Heel veel plezier en succes daar met je nieuwe baan - en ontluikende carrière... All best,
Sybren

Douwe de Haan

Site ziet er leuk uit, zal het wat verder bekijken hoe en wat.
Hoop dat het je goed gaat!

groeten,
Douwe

sybren

Fijn om te lezen dat het jullie goed vergaat daar. Geniet ervan; go for it! Laat nog eens wat foto's zien.
Groetjes,
Sybren

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active